Talk

Advanced search

3rd degree tear 3 years ago - should I go for elective C-section this time?

(8 Posts)
dobbyclub Wed 13-Sep-17 23:03:53

Pregnant with DC2 - will have approx 3 year age gap. Had a 3C tear with DC1, repaired and not had particular trouble with it after the first few months apart from general weak pelvic floor. However with a vaginal birth there is a risk (they say about 8%) of tearing again in the same place which could be 'serious' (I assume permanent damage and/or surgery needed).

They've asked if I want a C-section, which I initially didn't really want but am seriously considering now. I have no real knowledge of C-sections - am asking friends about their experiences. I feel a bit weird that it's just planned at around 39 weeks, I feel like the baby won't be 'ready' to come out if labour hasn't started.

I don't really know how to make my decision. I am getting examined and scanned more to check the repair and baby's growth but I am tempted to ask to book in a section now and then see if I change my mind. Any advice? I am a bit worried about having a toddler and baby to look after while I'm trying to recover. Will have DH and DM around for a bit.

dobbyclub Thu 14-Sep-17 09:19:51

bumping...

flojo73 Thu 14-Sep-17 09:56:46

I had a 3b tear with my 1st baby, he weighed 11lb 4... I was offered an elective CS with my next baby and I agonized over what to do. I found recovery after the delivery of ds long and really painful & I've since suffered with lasting side effects.
I eventually opted for an elective section with ds2 and it was the right decision for me. I had immediate skin to skin in theatre, after ds1 was born I had to go to theatre to have the tear repaired so I missed out on his 1st couple of hours (then he ended up on SCBU-due to respiratory distress, he was just too big!)