Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Expressing colostrum at 36 weeks - hand or pump?

(13 Posts)
Rockspin Sun 14-May-17 10:00:34

I'm being induced in Friday due to GD and other issues, I'll be 37+2 when I go in.
My diabetes midwife has given me lots of syringes and told me to express my colostrum for baby as she is likely to have blood sugar issues.
My 1st DD was also an induction (38 weeks) because of GD and I didn't express beforehand with her as wasn't told to, and luckily she breastfed right away and had no issues with her blood sugars after birth. So I've no experience of expressing beforehand!
So my question is, is it better to express by hand or can I use my pump? I can get a little out by hand after a bath but other than that hand expressing isn't all that successful. Midwife said I can try 3 times a day so a few drops from each breast after a bath is great but I'd like to get some during the day too! Any advice?

seven201 Sun 14-May-17 10:10:54

I couldn't get anything with my hand. In the end I bought a manual pump and would do three squeezes then remove it to collect one tiny drop! I wrecked my nipples (I had to use Shiela for the first month) as I kept trying as I'd only been given 3 days to do it. Only got about 1.5ml total in the end, but every little helps.

Rockspin Sun 14-May-17 12:01:08

Thanks! Yes every little does help. They said they could top her up with formula but I'd like to avoid that if poss so I'll keep trying. I've got 5 days to try!

Mummyme87 Sun 14-May-17 15:22:13

I wouldn't recommend using a pump for colostrum, your nipples could get really painful. Lots of massage, have a look on you tube

AppleMagic Sun 14-May-17 15:27:56

Hand. You'll only get a tiny bit at first but it will increase, especially if you've successfully breastfed before.

Rockspin Sun 14-May-17 15:29:57

Brilliant thank you! Will have a look on YouTube now. Yes I breastfed last time for 2.5 years so fingers crossed.