Talk

Advanced search

Writing a book on the medical side of birth - will it be useful?

(128 Posts)
DoctorMonty Tue 31-Jan-17 22:55:46

Hi MNetters... your reputation precedes you, I'm a bit nervous...! blush

As briefly as possible: I'm a labour ward doctor (obstetrician) and it seems to me that mums-to-be are well prepped by loads of books/NCT etc. about natural childbirth, how to avoid needing an epidural etc.

But...! Sometimes things don't go to plan, and that's where my job starts. But again and again, it seems like women - particularly with first babies - haven't been told much about the medical side of things, and then you're expected to take it on board within minutes!

Take for instance forceps deliveries. I totally get you'd want to avoid a forcep delivery - believe it or not, so do we as doctors. But there's not much good being told everything about it, the risks and benefits etc, in the few minutes before you end up having one! And sometimes time really isn't on our side. I still see regularly on birth plans "I don't want forceps unless necessary", which I can understand. But at the same time, we don't do it unless it is necessary...! Why is no one putting that information out there pre-birth?!

We had our daughter in 2015, my wife did amazingly, she had a hypnobirth in a pool smile. So I understand about not wanting to visualise negative things, wanting to picture the perfect birth and all of that... but some people like to know what Plan B is!

So, I'm 4000 words into a book that explains in plain English why we do certain medical things on labour ward and what the risks and benefits are. Some pregnant mums won't want to think about it - I get that. But presumably some would prefer to know as much as possible, so if something starts to go wrong they know what happens and feel more in control...?

Particularly if you're someone with a complication picked up in pregnancy, when a home birth in a pool is just not on the cards.