Talk

Advanced search

hospital bag!

(10 Posts)
Rianna1997 Wed 09-Dec-15 19:44:37

Hello all!
My first baby is due next month and I'm starting to think about packing my hospital bag! Only problem is I'm pretty clueless when it comes to what I'll need when in labour as I've never done this before hmm
Could anyone tell me please what I'll need to pack, I think I have the essentials sorted but quantities of stuff is a bit confusing! Also is there anything less common that some of you ladies took to hospital with you that you'd recommend?smile

trebleclef101 Wed 09-Dec-15 21:42:10

For me I needed: a comfy outfit (think nice stretchy pjs or similar as it's difficult to know what size you'll be straight after the birth) and cardigan to go over the top. If you are planning on breast feeding then something that opens easily at the front is a must.

Slippers that I could get on and off without bending over grin, towel, toiletries, magazines and a puzzle book for the stay in hospital, big comfy pants and maternity pads.

Phone and charger, and camera if you want (I just used my phone).

For the baby I needed: 2 or 3 vests and sleep suits with integral scratch mits, nappies (we took one pack of about 30 newborn size) and baby wipes, towel (this wasn't on the list provided by the hospital but when they bathed the baby they expected us to have bought one), 3 or 4 muslin squares.

Things I packed but didn't use: snacks and drinks (but I wasn't in labour very long at the hospital), a cute "going home" outfit for my DD - stick with all in one sleep suits at this age! Breast pads - I didn't need these until my milk came in a few days after the birth and I was home by then. Dressing gown - I wore a warm cardigan instead as the hospitals air-con was a bit enthusiastic.

I also packed too many clothes for myself - my OH was coming to the hospital from home each day and so could bring me extra clothes as I needed them.