Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Uterine rupture questions

(24 Posts)
Maman1234 Tue 21-Jul-15 13:55:31

I've heard about the risk of uterine rupture during vbac but I've also heard that uterine rupture is not always an emergency situation and it's rare for the baby and mother to be at serious risk from it. I've also heard that uterine rupture can lead to a hysterectomy to save the mother. Does anyone understand all these things? I'm wondering what would actually happen in case of a uterine rupture and how dangerous it would be? What are the signs of uterine rupture to look out for? Does it only happen at the pushing stage or could it happen earlier? If it could happen earlier then do vbac women have to go to hospital earlier? The stuff I've read about this is very confusing!

MrsPatrickDempsey Tue 21-Jul-15 18:11:02

Hi can only give a response based in personal experience (i have been a midwife for nearly 19 years). In my opinion there is absolutely no way that a ruptured uterus is not an emergency. For a mum it can cause neurogenic and hypovolaemic shock (seen both of these) which in turn compromise baby. I have seen extremely poor outcomes (for mum and baby) from uterine rupture which can happen at anytime of labour. The signs are scar pain, shock (raised purse, low BP) vaginal bleeding and fetal distress. It is hard to generalise as they can present differently. I am aware that my experiences have clouded my judgement but I can balance that by having seen many vbacs too.

Maman1234 Tue 21-Jul-15 21:29:34

What would be the best thing to do then for vbac? Can you stay at home in labour until you need pain relief but look out for any signs of rupture? Or do you have to go into hospital early? When you say poor outcomes what sort of thing are we talking? Are there any stats on injuries caused by uterine rupture and how frequent they are?