Talk

Advanced search

C section recovery tips

(6 Posts)
Allthatnonsense Fri 05-Jun-15 08:30:24

DD arrived on Monday by elcs. Very sore and desperate to hear any advice on what to do and expect.

I'm sleeping on my back and taking pain killers around the clock. At what point will I be able to sleep on my side without that awful burning pulling pain accross my scar?

I'm also struggling to stand up straight, particularly after rest.

I was told that elcs were gentle compared to ECS and that I would be on my feet much sooner, but I'm finding the recovery very similar.

Does anyone have a similar experience or were you training for your next marathon within weeks?!!

123Jump Fri 05-Jun-15 09:38:13

First off,congratulations on the birth of your DD!flowers
I'm a nurse,worked with patients who were undergoing abdo surgery.
You may hear from posters who were practically doing a marathon within days. And that is great.
But every person is different, there is no right or wrong recovery time.
With regards to lying on your side,you could put a pillow between your legs,and a towel under your 'bump' to support it. One of the long bolster pillows could help too.
Are you getting up lots during the night,are you bfing? If bottle could your partner/family member help with some feeds at night?
Please,please take regular pain relief. Regularly,as in when ever you can take it whether or not you are sore at that time. Obviously the type of pain relief depends on feeding type.
It is normal to take a bit before you can stand upright straightaway, just go with that.
The important thing is not to rush your recovery,it will only hold you back.
Five days post sugary is nothing! Honestly. I would expect at 10-14 days you will see/feel more improvement.
Is your wound healing well?

hazelnutlatte Fri 05-Jun-15 09:47:25

I'm a nurse, and I've had a c section (and about to have another one in 2 weeks time).