Talk

Advanced search

Tens machine, worth it or not?

(19 Posts)
Bluemonkeyspots Mon 01-Apr-13 17:55:52

Am now overdue with dc4 so possibly should have thought about this sometime in the last ten years rather than just now but I have never tried one at all before so just wondering what others thought?

Where could I get one in the next few days if I decided I wanted to try it?

SirChenjin Mon 01-Apr-13 17:58:34

I hired one from my local Lloyds chemist, not sure if a pharmacy near you has the same thing on offer? Absolutely worth it imo - I couldn't have got as far on in labour as I did with all 3 of mine if I hadn't used the tens machine.

OohShinyChocolateHollowBunnies Mon 01-Apr-13 17:59:39

I used one. Don't think it really helped with the pain but I think it was a distraction enough with the gas and air to enable me to get though childbirth.

I loaned mine from the hospital before my due date but you may have left it slightly late to hire one but I know boots etc hire them out, or you could buy your own.

I tried it once and hated it, it really wasn't for me at all, I was getting the same pain, the same contractions but with the added 'benefit' of having a mini electric shock with them too.

I have heard loads of people say they are brilliant, but it really isn't something I would try again.

sweetiepie1979 Mon 01-Apr-13 18:01:11

Worth it I bought on amazon about 30 quid femme tens I think. It's helped with back pain later in life too.

BNmum Mon 01-Apr-13 18:09:40

Check out boots. I think you can hire or buy. I bought one of their own brand TENS machines which was reasonably priced at about £40 and thought it was brilliant. I wish I had taken the time to read the instructions beforehand though as I didn't know until afterwards that it had a more powerful setting for the later stages.