Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Waterbirth -- what happens if..

(6 Posts)
Splinters Mon 01-Oct-12 11:16:09

..you get the baby's head out in the water and find the shoulders are stuck? Can you discover it quickly enough when it's all submerged like that? And how on earth would you get out of the pool for help when your entire vagina is full of baby and you have a head between your legs? This has been bothering me.

maxbear Mon 01-Oct-12 11:29:04

I have had lots of water births and this has never happened to me. A few times I have had to get the Mum to stand up with her leg on the side of the pool and this has been enough to release the shoulders. Don't forget the midwife will advise you to get out before that point if she thinks it might happen such as if you are having a long second stage.

sparklekitty Tue 02-Oct-12 14:59:02

I have no experience of water birth but I had my DD 5 days ago and she got stuck. It was evident fairly early on that things weren't moving as they should, I was pushing really hard with strong contractions and she just wasn't moving. I would imagine its very unusual to get to the point where the head is out then things get stuck. MW best person to ask really tho.

Badgerina Tue 02-Oct-12 15:17:31

This slightly happened to me. I birthed DS's head in a kneeling upright position (in the pool) then sat back on my bum, semi-recumbant. Error.

All the midwife said to me was "baby's shoulders are taking a little longer now that I would like, if you don't mind, I'm just going to hook my finger under his shoulder to help him out" And she did.

She explained afterwards that the tiny tear I had was due to her having to intervene and she was very apologetic, but I knew it was necessary.

I know also that if there had been a serious issue, she would have asked to mobilise and get out of the pool.