Talk

Advanced search

Safest hospitals in South East London for babies and mum to give birth

(17 Posts)
Happystart Fri 21-Sep-12 15:12:28

Hi, this is my first post !

I am in my late forties, and having twins. I am trying to find the safest place (for all three of us) to actually give birth, having had a pretty horrible journey just to get to this stage.

Because I am more likely to have complications (and a caesarian) I am thinking Consultant led, lots of experience, good equipment and staffing levels. These are the main factors I think I should be trying to weigh up ??

I have seen the 2008 and 2010 ranking data, but if anyone knows any more recent or useful data that would be great. The main options seem to be Guys and St Thomas', Lewisham, KCH, or Princess Royal Farnborough. So if anyone knows any recent data, or has any personal case studies, to compare those that would be so helpful.

Or - any other useful ideas - I am new to this (there might be a whole hospital locally I have missed) !

Thanks

cooper44 Fri 21-Sep-12 15:36:55

hi there I don't know any stats and my situation is different to yours but I'm in a high risk pregnancy and am giving birth next week at St Thomas's and the consultants and midwife team there so far have been absolutely exemplary. Vigilant, caring, and accessible - I feel they have constantly gone out of their way to provide really thorough care. I've been monitored so closely the whole way through. I think you would be in the same team given your situation.
Hopefully someone will come along with some statistics for you soon too. Best of luck.

Happystart Fri 21-Sep-12 16:30:34

Thanks Cooper,

that is really helpful, as I am also high risk. All the best wishes for the birth.

kind regards

zgaze Fri 21-Sep-12 16:47:16