Talk

Advanced search

Please can I hear some positive birth stories after a previous traumatic delivery

(9 Posts)
Milkybrew Tue 16-Nov-10 13:11:24

Hello, I am new to Mumsnet and wondered if anyone would like to share positive birth stories after a previous traumatic birth. I am pregnant with my second DC after suffering a horrible birth first time round. Induction, Long labour, prolonged pushing stage, failed ventouse, baby delivered by forceps after becoming distressed. I then had PPH and was rushed to theatre. My consultant has basically said that I can opt for a c-section if I really want to, but that he feels a vaginal delivery is the best option and reassured me that just because last time was difficult, second births are much easier. Also to consider my DS was over 9lbs and consultant helpfully told me this one is likely to be bigger!
So if anyone can share their experience, either vaginal birth or c-section 2nd time around it may help me to decide what to do!

June2008 Tue 16-Nov-10 13:39:16

I had a hard time first time around - more than 3 days of labour, had the whole epi, drip thing - luckily didn't need any further intervention but it was horrible and seemed to go on forever.

Second time round the whole thing was over in 1 hr 19 mins acording to my notes. Bit of a shock to be honest but so much easier!

I didn't believe people when they said the second time would be easier but it was. Almost like your body remembers what to do.

Good luck!

SelinaDoula Tue 16-Nov-10 13:55:42

I have supported a few women (as a doula) after traumatic birth experiences. (Ceseareans and forceps mostly).
There are some stories on my website-
www.magicalbirth.co.uk/6.html
Have you considered a doula to support you?
You can search for ones in your area here-
www.doula.org.uk/utilities/userServices/search.asp
Selina x

saucetastic Tue 16-Nov-10 14:07:31