Talk

Advanced search

getting staretd with chickens - course

(7 Posts)
overthemill Tue 07-Jul-09 11:28:27

We've kept chickens for about 10 years now and have got loads of friends started with their own 'flock'.

I'm thinking about running a course on backyard chicken keeping - for people who want a few in their garden for fun, not professionals!

Opinions, please! What sort of things would you wish you'd known, would like to ask about? I'm thinking 3 hours max, tea and cakes provided, families welcome, dogs too!
And how much do you think is ok to charge - is £45 pp too much?
thanks!

overthemill Tue 07-Jul-09 11:29:31

btw, this is nt me touting for trade here, i just want your opinions on content you'd want included at this stage

alibubbles Tue 07-Jul-09 17:34:28

I went on one through Omlet, it was 2 hours, cost £10 including egg sandwiches and cake and a goody bag.

It was good for me as an absolute beginner.

midnightexpress Tue 07-Jul-09 17:39:00

Oooh, I'd like to keep chickens but for some reason find the idea a bit daunting, so things I'd like to know if I went on a course:

how to handle them (they're so flappy)
fox-proofing
illnesses and how to deal with them
feeding
hygiene basics
keeping them in a run vs letting them out and about - what would I need to know/consider?
breeds - advantages/disadvantages
where to buy
erm, what to do if they get past it and you are not a wringer of necks?

sarah293 Tue 07-Jul-09 17:39:17

Message withdrawn

bramblebooks Tue 07-Jul-09 18:24:58

I'm going to be doing them through omlet and will be charging £10 - £15 (to include gluten free cakes made with the hens' eggs!)

overthemill Tue 07-Jul-09 20:10:27

thanks for your replies. i'm also down to do the omlet ones - they are fairly basic it seems to me and the ones i was thinking of would include lots more info and be longer.

iI would include tea/coffee/homemade cakes and a booklet of egg recipes! But also lots oof really useful info that people seem to nneed.