Talk

Advanced search

anyone want to play hen or cock?

(12 Posts)

I know it probably seems really obvious, we have one brightly coloured one and two less bright ones.

But the bloke that sold them to me swore they were all hens.

Is flipper a cockerel?

pic on profile

mumpleasemayi Sun 19-Oct-08 19:01:58

Hmmm....I'm no expert but it does look like a cockerel to me.
take a look at this
or this one

yes, I'm fairly convinced that a boy has sneaked in grin

Tis a good job he is so gorgeous, or else we may have to think about letting him go. As it is, I don't think any of us could bear to be parted from him

smile

Watch this space for baby chickens for sale...

mumpleasemayi Sun 19-Oct-08 20:15:32

It's good you'll be able to keep him, he is very handsome!

well... the landlord said we were allowed to keep chickens but definitely no cocks.

So we'll only be able to keep him if we either
a) hide him
b) hope that they won't have the heart to remove a small boy's pet
c) lie and tell them he's a she after all.

hmm

mumpleasemayi Sun 19-Oct-08 21:10:33

Ah, well lets hope he wont crow too much, hiding him should'nt be to much of a problem then.

They all go into the coop at night, so I reckon he won't crow till I let him out, and I won't be letting him out until I'm up, so he shouldn't annoy anyone...

I'm right, aren't I? <<hopeful>>

mumpleasemayi Mon 20-Oct-08 07:14:53

I hope you're rightgrin. Never kept a cockerel myself, only my little hybrid girlies.

TheDuchessOfCorpseBride Mon 20-Oct-08 12:31:56

Are they all the same breed & same age? If so, are his comb & wattles much bigger. How old is he/she - because 'he' looks quite big so crowing should be imminent. Which leads to the bad news...

My cocks are all shut in at dusk and let out in the morning, one crows during the night (nutter) and I can hear him from the room nearest the henhouse. They all crow in the morning whilst still shut up, if your neighbours are very close, they will hear them.