Talk

Advanced search

What do I do with a very thin chicken?

(11 Posts)
newmumwithquestions Wed 11-Jan-17 22:05:56

I'm new to chicken keeping. I have 3.
2 seem to be thriving (one is chunking up nicely and the other started laying a few days ago).
The other (a Pekin) is really skinny - i can't normally get near her but I thought she looked like she's been dropping weight so managed to catch her 2 days ago and she was as light as a feather and very bony sad. She feels totally different to the other 2. Her crop did have something in but wasn't full.

I have had some cocci and treated them all for it in late November so I wondered if it could be related to this so I got a poo sample tested but it's just come back that she's got no worms/cocci.

She was pecking at some pellets this morning but didn't eat a thing when I took some scraps out this afternoon even though I added a load of mealworms to try to tempt her and split it into 2 bowls so it wasn't that she's getting pushed out.
I added oregano oil suppliment to their water today and will keep doing so for a few days to see if that gives her a boost.

I'm really worried she's slowly starving. Not sure what's best to do.
The only way to separate her is to bring her into the house and I've 2 small children so it will be noisy and stressful for her. Better than starvation but not a great option.

I'm thinking of grabbing her off her perch in the morning and syringing some drops into her to try to give her a boost. (I can't catch her once she's out).

I'm reluctant to take her to a vet as I had to take a different chicken (who died) and I don't think they were very good and it cost me £200.
I do have access to antibiotics but don't want to randomly dose her if that wouldn't help.

Anyone got any advice??
Thanks

Pixel Thu 12-Jan-17 18:43:03