Talk

Advanced search

My chicken is very poorly.....please help me?

(21 Posts)
KatyMac Mon 27-Jun-11 19:17:29

She was sat in her nesting box (on 2 eggs) in lots of poo

She is all wet underneath

I have her in a cardboard box with some food & some water; what else should I do?

Cazwa Mon 27-Jun-11 19:43:46

Has she gone broody? Is she eating and drinking normally? Does she seem distressed in any way or unwell? Im no expert but have heard that if they go broody they sometimes neglect themselves because they are spending so long on the nest. If shes really filthy dirty you could try giving her a bath in the sink, but read up on how to do it first. I have a book that explains how to do it but Im sure there will be advice on line.

KatyMac Mon 27-Jun-11 19:50:32

She was breathing heavily, but it was very hot (30)

She seems better now, but still very dirty/wet

A bath

Cazwa Mon 27-Jun-11 19:55:43

Here is a link IVe found to bathing a chicken. My book didnt mention having 3 baths set up, just one, seems OTT. But it gives the gist of it and some useful tips.
http://www.wikihow.com/Bathe-a-Chicken

Ive heard hens pant a lot in hot weather. Maybe she was broody and overheated in her nesting box? Keep her somewhere cool for a while, or a bath will certainly cool her down.

KatyMac Mon 27-Jun-11 20:00:56

Do I put her back with the other one over night?

I have her in a box atm which probably isn't safe (cats & foxes) I did wonder about putting her in the wendy house over night

Cazwa Mon 27-Jun-11 20:10:43

If she seems alright in herself but is just a bit dirty then yes I'd stick them in together. But if you think shes actually really poorly and not just dirty then yes, possibly keep her separate. Saying that my hen was poorly recently and it didn't enter my head to separate her, the other one seemed so well. But with hindsight I should have.

KatyMac Mon 27-Jun-11 20:13:19

She seems to be trying to lay an egg - could it be stuck?

Can we help?