Going from "premium" brand?

(44 Posts)
carrie74 Mon 03-Oct-16 09:37:38

I need to change my car soon, I've been driving my Audi A4 estate for 8 years, and it's getting to the point where repairs are getting pricier. My DH also drives an Audi (an A5 for reference), and is quite keen for us to replace the A4 with another, but I think I'd like a bit of a change.

We looked at the Audi Q3 at the weekend, but it's going to be too small for us (2 children age 11 & 9, likely to grow into enormous teens, as DH and I are both tall), the Q5 is really more than we'd like to spend (we're thinking of nearly new cars - ex demos probably rather than buying from new).

We also looked at there Kia Sportage, which came with loads of twiddly bits as standard, and pricing is significantly less than Audi, but it felt just a little bit plasticky inside.

I think we'll also look at Volvo (XC60), but I'm slightly nervous about moving away from the premium brands - surely there's a reason they're premium? What have people's experiences been if they've done this, and also, any recommendations for excellent, comfy, high-specced medium sized SUVs?

0hCrepe Mon 03-Oct-16 09:45:16

Volvo is premium isn't it? I would love a Volvo XC60/90 if I could. I know people who love them.

carrie74 Mon 03-Oct-16 09:48:18

Sorry yes, Volvo is still premium, it's the Kia/Hyundai/Mazda thing I'm unsure about.

carrie74 Mon 03-Oct-16 09:49:10

Also, good to know of recommendation for the Volvo - my friend used to have an XC90 which he then changed for a Volvo estate, so it's reassuring that he's stuck with the same brand IYSWIM?

Herschellmum Mon 03-Oct-16 09:53:58

How about staying within the same group? Audi is form the vw group, and they are all German quality cars, so vw, seat? They are less in money than Audi but same quality, especially vw.