economical but not tiny family car?

(17 Posts)
NumptyMum Fri 23-Sep-11 22:16:01

I've been sharing a car with a friend for 10 years as, living in a city, we've not needed a car all the time and it made the most sense.

We're about to move into suburbia and I'll need to get a car of my own. Any recommendations for a car for a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 small kids) that is economical BUT not tiny (as it will be our only car, ie needed for holiday trips too)? I'd have around 4k to spend, could up it if really really convinced it's worth it...

Ta!

NumptyMum Fri 23-Sep-11 22:17:19

I'm afraid I'm off to bed (smallest child likely to wake me at least once tonight) so please don't be offended if I don't reply straight off! Will check in again in the morning...

CointreauVersial Fri 23-Sep-11 22:21:43

If you are not bothered about "labels" get a Kia or a Hyundai. Way more bang for your buck, and if it's not too old it'll still be under warranty. We bought a 1 year old Kia Carens last year for £5k, and it is fab.

EmmalinaC Sat 24-Sep-11 22:31:58

I know nothing about cars but my DH, who was formerly road-test editor for a well-known car mag, says you need a Honda Jazz or a Ford Focus (diesel). Give me some more info and I'll tell you the perfect car!

VivaLeBeaver Sat 24-Sep-11 23:10:53

Dh has a diesel mondeo, big engine I think a 2 ltr. It's got good fuel economy though, dh gets 60mpg out of it on long runs and 50mpg round town.

BikeRunSki Sat 24-Sep-11 23:13:43

Skoda Fabia Estate

SingingSands Sat 24-Sep-11 23:17:40

Would agree with Ford Focus (diesel). We hired one on holiday and were so impressed with it over the 2 weeks we are now looking to buy one! Large boot, plenty of room in the back for kids (ours are 7 and 3), excellent fuel consumption and handles really well.

NumptyMum Mon 03-Oct-11 13:58:08