Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing car seats. If you want to buy and sell car seats, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Car seats for a complete beginner

(8 Posts)
babybat Fri 06-Nov-15 19:45:30

I'm due in February, and trying to choose a car seat has got me completely baffled! FIL has kindly offered to pay for the car seat, but I don't really know where to start. I'd like an isofix seat as they seem easier to fit than the seatbelt-fastened ones (and it really does need to be idiot-proof in the early sleep-deprived days!) We've been given a secondhand Mutsy pram, which comes with adaptors for a Maxi-Cosi car seat, so I've been looking at those, but we might end up replacing the pram with a lighter/newer one if we have the money at some point. So my questions are:

- If we want to get a seat that's broadly compatible with a future pram, which makes are the easiest to find adaptors for? Is Maxi-Cosi the way to go if we want something that's most likely to be compatible with most types of pram?
- Are there any real advantages to going for an infant seat and getting a bigger one as the child grows, or should we spend the extra and get a combination seat now?
- What should I be asking if we go to John Lewis/Mothercare to look at seats to help narrow down the choices and find the right one?

motherofallhangovers Fri 06-Nov-15 19:53:28

I'd say go to John Lewis over Mother care, you're more likely to get someone who knows what they are taking about there. Mothercare staff don't have the first clue IME.

Or if you want to talk to people who really know what they are talking about, try the In Car Safety Centre

There are so many different options and you won't necessarily know what suits you till the baby is here.

We didn't bother going for a "travel system" (i.e. a car seat and a buggy that fit together) as the baby isn't meant to stay in the car seat for too long, it's not good for their backs IIRC so we didn't see the point.