Talk

Advanced search

Has anyone been to either of these sites in Cornwall (St Austell and Land's End)?

(13 Posts)
sweetnitanitro Mon 24-Aug-09 15:44:25

I've never done this before blush we are renting a motorhome in late September and I am just about to book the campsites (hope I haven't left it too late! I figured off-season would be quiet).

These are the ones I am thinking of booking-

Carlyon Bay

Trevedra Farm

but there is also this one near Land's End-

Seaview

We are camping site virgins with a 10 mo DD so if anyone has any tips then please let me know!

ZippysMum Mon 24-Aug-09 15:59:33

Hi,
This is our neck of the woods so I can advise on local beaches etc near Seaview. Don't know about the campsite except it seems like it would have a lot of good facilities etc (it seems very well set up).

Lands End itself is a complete waste of money IMO, but nearby are some beautiful places and they won't be too busy in September. I can highly recommend Sennen beach website here which has a really lovely restaurant as well as surf school, decent loos etc.

The Gurnards Head is a really nice, child-friendly gastropub (nice for lunches especially).

Porthcurno beach is also really lovely, with good facilities and the Minack Theatre right next door. There are also beautiful walks to be had if you have a baby backpack some walking ideas here.

Hope that helps - it really is a beautiful part of the country!!

MaggieLeo Mon 24-Aug-09 16:01:57

St Austell's was the only town in cornwall that underwhelmed me. THe view of the bay from the town is nice, but the town is a bit blah.

I'd stay somewhere else if you can.

Most of the towns are gorgeous though.

ZippysMum Mon 24-Aug-09 16:12:00

Hi again,