Talk

Advanced search

Would this tent be suitable for beginners?

(8 Posts)
Geepers Mon 29-Jun-09 09:10:06

We have never been camping before so are complete beginners. We are a family of 6 so need plenty of space, but don't want anything so complicated that we ruin our holiday with the stress of putting up the tent!

This is the one I am looking at www.worldofcamping.co.uk/shop/wild_country_halo_73_tent._green._current_model.__1597

What do you think? It says it is an inner pitch first, and I don't entirely know what that means, only that it is not as easy to pitch. Is it much harder? We are spending so much time researching tents I can see the summer passing us by before we have made a decision.

Ivykaty44 Mon 29-Jun-09 09:15:03

looks great - go to the park and pitch it there before you go on holiday.

Take nail varnish with you - mark the poles with varnish one dot two dots and three dots to show which poles go together it they come appart.

Inner pitch means you put the inner bedrooms up first and then throw the puter sheet over the top.

I'm not sure.....

Inner pitch first means you will have a crappy time pitching in the rain, as the inner will get soaked, it's a case of either wait for it to stop raining, or wait for you bedrooms to dry.

To be comfortable you should always get a tent 2 berth bigger than the amount of people sleeping in it so really you want an 8 man.

I am also suspicious of anything so reduduced so early in the season, there must be a reason why they can't shift 'em.

Here are some in a similar price bracket (though you may get them cheaper)

Khyam Kansas 8

Vango Tigris 8 (this has been a popular mn choice this year)

Vango Colarado 800

Gelert Meridian 8

Coleman Riverside 9

Personally I like the Gelert, good specifications for the money, it isn't a brand I would usually go for but maybe they are upping their game.

Geepers Mon 29-Jun-09 11:21:00