Talk

Advanced search

I need a new family tent - what would you recommend?

(8 Posts)
flame17 Mon 01-Jun-09 18:00:03

We have had a Diablo 600 for the last few years but after our last trip this week we have decided it's time for a change. It's just past it's best now.

But I have no idea what for.
I have liked the Diablo, I like the tunnel that can be used for cooking away from the elements and still having a lovely big living area. However I would like more light in the tent, the diablo aways seemed dark. It was the 2002/2003 model.

I like the look of the tunnel tents (easier to fit on pitches)but fear they won't stand up to high winds. And the porches never seem to be enclosed.

A SIG is a must, I'm not good with bugs!Straight forward,easy and quick to put up.
It would be for 2 adults, 2 children and a dog!

Any Suggestions?
Thanks

tinateaspoon Mon 01-Jun-09 20:02:22

How much is your budget?

We have an Outwell Idaho XL as our family tent for two adults, two children and a dog. It is a monster though so we only really use it for longer trips, rather than weekends. It is great though with lots of useful space, two spacious bedrooms both with their own dressing area and wardrobe rails, the living area is huge and the porch is a good size and is enclosed. Once up it is very sturdy and there are windows both sides so it is quite light. The HH is 5000 and it has a SIG.

The downsides are its too big for some pitches and takes a bit of practice to get it up quickly. Packing it back in the bag is tricky too until you have mastered it. It is also quite heavy and the pole bag is heavy. They do a smaller version, the Idaho L. If you want a big family tent then it is really good - check out the reviews on UK Campsite which swung it for us.