Talk

Advanced search

Camping for beginners

(7 Posts)
duckling84 Sun 06-May-18 10:41:43

Ok so I have 4 children and would like to take them camping. Aside from our one experience at Glastonbury, we are complete newbies. so aside from tent and sleeping bags, what are the essentials to take? How do you cook food or store milk for breakfast?
I'm going to start with just 2 nights at our most local campsite I think.

bk1981 Mon 07-May-18 16:33:34

If you're just starting out I would recommend not buying too much incase you discover its not for you!
For cooking I would get a couple of suitcase stoves, they're really cheap but will reheat a curry or fry bacon etc perfectly we.
You can buy a basic coolbox and check if your campsite has a freezer to refreeze ice packs, which should keep your milk cold for a couple of days.
If you really enjoy it you could think about buying something like an icey tek which will keep your stuff cold for around five days.

ScrubTheDecks Tue 08-May-18 08:26:14

Something to sleep on: kids are fine in roll out foam mats. Heavier folk (adults) generally prefer an air bed or self-inflating mat.

Some folding chairs are useful, and a folding table.

Head torches for the kids at night, hanging lantern for the tent.

You can use stuff from your kitchen, there are packs of cheap plastic bowls, plates etc in Sainsbury’s picnic ranges.

A washing up bowl.

Bucket to wee in at night.

I am not a fan of cereal for camping breakfasts. Too much milk to manage, the kids spill it when using camp chairs and tables, the bowls with leftover milk are a pain to deal with. Packs of brioche rolls or individually wrapped croissants etc. Lidl is your friend!

Almostthere15 Thu 17-May-18 07:27:27