Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Which tent should I buy....?

(7 Posts)
QueenCardigan Sat 15-Aug-15 20:07:41

I'm a complete camping novice (as is dh) but we're thinkng of getting a tent and giving it a go.

I'd like a tent that's easy to erect by myself with the 3 dc. Ideally we like something to sleep 8 so we have plenty of space.

I've looked online and like the look of inflatable tents for ease of erection. I'm hoping to go to an actual shop tomorrow to have a browse.

Any suggestions/recommendations?

camperdine Sat 15-Aug-15 20:15:23

I'm interested in inflatable tents. I was a bit put off by the weight but then when I looked at version with poles of a similar size they were only about 5kg lighter. I went to have a look at a few last weekend and was blown away by how big the 8-berth tents were, and I have decided we will have to survive with a 6-berth.

lokijet Sat 15-Aug-15 20:23:34

i bought a vango icarus airbeam last year and it has been good - can get up and down by myself (DS is 5 years now and tries to help)

Have used the hand pump but also bought a pump that can be run off the car

Someone else recently recommended a Queca pop up tent

PS still struggle to neatly fold ground sheet etc as 5 year s old doesn't really know how to foldsheets

QueenCardigan Sat 15-Aug-15 20:33:28

Thank you. I'll have a look at those.

Bellemere Sun 16-Aug-15 11:15:12

We've just bought a Kalahari Elite 10 which also comes in an 8 man version. We are complete beginners - neither of us have camped before. It was very easy to put up. If you go on the gooutdoors website you can see a video of it. Loads of space too. Inflatable ones are much more expensive.

DunderMiffed Sun 16-Aug-15 11:33:33

Outwell Nevada would be a brill tent for a family of your size and I reckon you could do it alone but if the kids are old enough to hold a guy rope it will be easier (not as easy as an inflatable tent but pretty easy all the same).

CatsRule Tue 18-Aug-15 19:33:07