Talk

Advanced search

Camping - where? what? how?

(30 Posts)
popsycal Wed 24-Mar-04 09:27:54

I sound like the hoobs!

Anyway - we are discussing summer holidays and, for a variety of reasons, are considering camping to be our main choice.

I am a camping novice (apart from guide camp aged 11) but dh has camped lots when he was travelling but in hot countries. He is also (how can I put this politely?) a 'minimalist' and would only take the very bare essentials. He is also badly organised so it would probably down to me to ensure we have the necessities. HMPH!!

So! First - recommendations of where to go.
We are in the north east - if we were to go north, we would only want to travel 3 hours maximum. Going further south, we have places we could stay off for the night (family/friends) but don't want to travel more than 3 hours per day.
We would also like to be close to things to do if it should rain (eg sealife centre, swimming pool, etc). Just thought about France actually....somewhere nearish to an airport that does cheap flights.....?

Second! What do we need? Dh reckons he has a tent (hmmm -I have never seen it!). WHat are the essentials and what are the nice 'extras' to take?

Third - DS will be two in the summer when we go - any "Do and Don'ts" for camping with a toddler?

Any advice greatly appreciated

fio2 Wed 24-Mar-04 09:32:51

there was a great thread on this once, I will try and find it. Dont worry I will get your backpack to you before then!! LOL

My Mum and Stepdad do camping in france and have found it is cheaper to hire a tent due to all the insurances, dont know if this is true or not, someone?

WideWebWitch Wed 24-Mar-04 09:41:19

popsycal, you need katherine, she is an expert camper. try searching on her ame fio2. i am 1 handed scuse typing

fio2 Wed 24-Mar-04 09:42:46

here it is here

fio2 Wed 24-Mar-04 09:43:20

yes I was going to say Katherine is the expert too wwww

popsycal Wed 24-Mar-04 11:56:02

oh thanks for that link it is great!