Talk

Advanced search

Any tips for camping in the garden?

(8 Posts)
mymumdom Sun 24-Jul-11 18:40:53

The kids want to sleep overnight in the garden one night these holidays. We have a cheap 5 person teepee tent, a spare mattress, some sleeping bags, a couple of kids sleeping bags, 2 duvets and some inflatable sleep mats.
DS (3) can sleep inside with his father but the girls ( 5, 8 and 9) will need me out there with them.
I'm not expecting to last the night out there but I've been putting it off for a couple of years and can no longer fob them off.
Has anyone else done this?
Any hints or tips?

wheresthepimms Sun 24-Jul-11 18:52:47

Well when we camp, and we have done a lot, away from home it always goes well, all DCs know what to do and how to help. When we try to camp in the garden it all goes to pot and by 30 mins they are all tucked up in bed. Guess main tip would be to put the tent close to the house so that it doesn't take to long to cart everything back inside grin

Batteryhuman Sun 24-Jul-11 18:58:43

DS3 is 9 and sleeps out in a tent in the garden on his own or occasionally with a friend almost all the time from easter to september. I leave the bedroom window open and can hear if he calls (which he doesn't) and he has only ever bailed out if the friend does which is usually just after bedtime not in the middle of the night.

serin Sun 24-Jul-11 19:17:33

We sometimes sleep out for fun or if the weather is too hot to be indoors, great fun and nice clean toilet!

mymumdom Sun 24-Jul-11 20:31:24

Okay, so...
pitch tent close to house, when they are 9 kids can camp out themselves and other people do it too.
Cool....

mel2005 Sun 24-Jul-11 22:28:40

mine always stay up later as they just will not go to sleep, doesnt help in a belltent because its so light inside. i like solar fairy lights so they are not scared if they wake up in the night. also its so much colder than you expect so take the duvets as well as sleeping bags