Talk

Advanced search

Please help - advice needed to avert imminent birthday disaster!

(18 Posts)
CakeAche Sat 30-Mar-13 09:04:09

Tis DS's party on Monday and I've promised him that I'd make him a train cake. I'm an alright baker but have always made "straight" cakes, not shaped ones or ones requiring fondant icing magic.

something similar to this looks like it would be an easier option to make for a relative novice, but I have no idea about sort of cake would be dense enough to support the icing. I'm fairly confident about following a cake recipe but I don't know what's suitable <stamps foot>.

Does anyone know what sturdy (child-frendly) cake would work best here and have a recipe they'd be willing to share? And does anyone know how I'd begin to go about doing the icing (and indeed, what sort of icing to use). And any guidance of what equipment and a rough guide to timings of when to make the cake, when to ice etc would be SO gratefully received - you'd have my eternal gratitude and love (which as we all know, coming from a random internet sprite is the best form of validation to have).

Please help! I'm panicking like a very panicked thing.

NeoMaxiZoomDweebie Sat 30-Mar-13 11:10:43

I came on MN for advice re a similar cakey problem. That cake is not as easy as it looks in my opinion and the outside design IS made of fondant icing. But it's not hard to work with....the design in the pic is simple...you need to roll coloured fondant out (buy ready made in Tesco) and then cut out the shapes. Stick them down with a dab of vodka.

If you are not experienced I suggest that you go to Tesco or M&S and buy one of their plain white iced cakes....they're occassion cakes with royal icing on them. Sponge inside...use that as your main cake and stick the fondant around the edge.

totherwise these are good here

Swiss roll type train cakes...you can make carriages with sweets in them!

TobyLerone Sat 30-Mar-13 11:15:36