Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Is this a stupid idea?

(6 Posts)
pizzafrenchfries Sat 11-Mar-17 00:07:35

How easy is it to setup a shop?

My dream is to set up a baby clothes/ toys shop- we live in a fairly affluent town but there is a dearth of shops like the one I imagine!

Is it really stupid to think it's possible? I would try online but I really think our area is missing what I'm envisioning so it might be easier to make it work by having a physical shop front!

My background is in web design/marketing and my dh works in retail...

I've found a cheap shop to Rent i just need the push to go for it!

beachbodyunready Sat 11-Mar-17 00:12:02

Check out the rates - the rent could be artificially low just to get a tenant and the rates could be tens of thousands of pounds a year. I work in this field and see so many shops open and fold within 2 years due to the fact that the tenant hasn't factored in what a burden the rates could be. My advice would be to get the smallest possible shop up you can and try and get one with a rateable value of less that £6k so that no rates are payable.

pizzafrenchfries Sat 11-Mar-17 00:17:47

Thank you! The rates are 4000 (it's quite a small unit but I thought small would be better as wouldn't need loads of stock to fill it?

beachbodyunready Sun 12-Mar-17 19:08:01

Small is good for a start up, but £4000 per year is a lot, don't forget the rates are payable regardless of how much you sell.

Astro55 Sun 12-Mar-17 19:12:02

Can you start at baby shows or garble top sales - eBay etc and generate some interest?

What's your unique selling point? Quality secondhand or new? Expensive new or unique or basic?

NSEA Sun 12-Mar-17 19:14:38

I say go for it!!

Sounds interesting and if you think that you are filling a gap in the market then have faith in yourself.

Another possibility could be to find the local Facebook group in your area, especially a parents and baby page and pose the question on there.

Join the discussion