Talk

Advanced search

Keeps detatching every few seconds

(6 Posts)
susj Tue 16-Aug-05 21:02:11

My son is 8 weeks old and has just started faffing around during feeds, he latches on then takes about 4 gulps then comes off (often dragging at my nipple) then attaches himself again takes another 4 gulps and detaches again and so on... He has only just started this. He is generally a really good feeder and is massive for his age so i am not concerned about his weight or anything but it is very hard to satisfy his hunger when he keeps doing this. Any suggestions?

Mads1 Tue 16-Aug-05 21:07:20

dear susj
my dd has started to do this i read that it could several things:
1) There's no let down and DD is impatient for it
2) Maybe baby has blocked nose?
3) Needs a poo!? My dd sometimes does this and then within a minute suddenly fills her nappy!
4)Had enough or emptied the breast

I'm no expert but i bear these in mind when my dd is doing it and one of these answers tends to fit.
Hope this help.

Mads1 Tue 16-Aug-05 21:09:16

Sorry forgot to mention. If he is gaining weight ok then he is obviously getting what he needs and so try not to worry! Like alot of things,hopefully it's a phase and it will pass.

hunkermunker Tue 16-Aug-05 21:09:25

Sounds like he's reaching the age of the distractible baby - they get distracted by things as they realise there's a world beyond the boob.

(Boobs are never empty - don't worry about that)

SpikeMomma Tue 16-Aug-05 21:36:39

Mine is 6wks and starting to do the same - was a good feeder before this. I found if i take him off and wind him usually get a burp then put him back on he is less 'playful' (cast eyes up!). He sort of 'head bobs' and it's really uncomfortable! Good luck!

Roobie Tue 16-Aug-05 22:51:27