Talk

Advanced search

Anyone got pregnant while breastfeeding???

(17 Posts)
jennijones Wed 14-Oct-09 11:47:33

Hi all, this is my first time on Mumsnet!

I was just wondering how likely it is to get pregnant while breastfeeding? I know it's not unheard of, but does it happen a lot?

The thing is, my little boy is 9 weeks old now and I breastfeed (almost constantly it seems!!). Last weekend, my hubby and me finally re-kindled our love-life (well, kind of, anyway...) and when I got up the next morning and went to the loo I had the kind of discharge I only ever get when ovulating (sorry for the gory details!).
When I looked this up on the web it appeared that healthcare professionals seem to find it very unlikely to conceive while breastfeeding, especially when you have a young baby which feeds a lot, but I am now getting the impression that it's more common than they are letting on!!
So I'm wondering now if I actually might have gotten pregnant, especially as we've been so lucky in the past and managed to conceive as soon as we started trying with our three children.
Has this happened to anyone else?? Is this common??
Jen xx

FaintlyMacabre Wed 14-Oct-09 12:01:07

This explains about lactational amenorrhoea. (And also has a gorgeous picture of a feeding babay!)
Basically, it's unlikely but not impossible.

FaintlyMacabre Wed 14-Oct-09 12:01:40

babay!

AvonBarksdale Wed 14-Oct-09 12:14:32

I'm sorry to inform you dd2 (6weeks) who is currently asleep in my arms was conceived while I was bf dd1! I have not had a period since dd1 was conceived so had no idea I was "in the zone"! However this was when dd1 was 9mo - I reckon at 9weeks you should be safer. Fingers crossed! smile

StealthPolarBear Wed 14-Oct-09 12:17:55

yes, but DS was 20 months and periods had returned (just!)
Would imagine at 9 weeks & almost constant bf you won't be. But test if you're worried!

StealthPolarBear Wed 14-Oct-09 12:18:36