Talk

Advanced search

3 day old bfed baby - wake to feed or feed on demand ?

(12 Posts)
puffylovett Sun 04-Oct-09 15:42:17

Am demand feeding at the mo, and waking up if he goes 3-4 hours sleeping unless it's at night. He's done hour stretches at night so far, and had some good cluster feeds.

He's feeding well despite a slight tongue tie, I'm really engorged today so milk is coming in. However he's a very sicky baby, I'm struggling to get his wind up well so he's having awake time between feeds whilst we try to get burps up / keep milk down !

Am generally just going with the flow, am I doing the right thing ?

Plenty of wet nappies btw, still awaiting the first breast fed explosion as so far just meconium....

fluffyanimal Sun 04-Oct-09 15:44:20

Sounds just like my ds2 (7 weeks)! Right down to the tongue tie and wind etc. I'd say you were doing the right thing, but I'm no expert of course.

Undercovamutha Sun 04-Oct-09 16:53:55

I'm no expert either! Sounds fine, but just keep an eye on the breast engorgement. My DS slept for long periods from birth, and i ended up getting mastitis because I was so full.

puffylovett Sun 04-Oct-09 17:15:09

argh tell me about it, with DS1 I very nearly developed mastitis on day 3 as well. Right breast is currently ready to explode grin

My gut is telling me just follow his needs, I know he's feeding well. I spent so long analyzing with DS1 and trying to develop a routine, and in the end realised I'd wasted a whole heap of time. Am determined not to make the same mistakes this time around..

Rosebud05 Sun 04-Oct-09 21:37:10

My ds slept a lot to start with and I hand expressed a little when I got uncomfortable. the worst bit was when the milk came in ie where you are now and it got easier from then on.

bethylou Sun 04-Oct-09 21:41:59