Talk

Advanced search

slow to setablish breast feeding - help

(13 Posts)
kathhere Sat 03-Oct-09 17:01:02

our daughter is 3 weeks today and we are struggling to establish bf,

She was induced at 37.5 weeks & had tongue tie, plus still has jaundice so is v sleepy

I am expressing all the milk i can and sometimes she bfs (more likely in afternoon, never at night) so we are using my milk in bottle too but is it too late to hope she'll be a fully bf baby? Latch is also not great even when she's on

Also confused about whether to 'nag' her with bf or concentrate on filling her up via bottle, any advice welcome please, thanks

ib Sat 03-Oct-09 17:10:55

I'm no expert, but my ds did have jaundice plus reflux which meant that he refused to feed.

I didn't really manage to get bf established until he was about 10 weeks, but eventually it worked out and he carried on feeding until he was 2.5 yo!

So I would say, no, it absolutely isn't too late to hope she'll be a fully bef baby! Good on you for keeping going.

I would really advise you to see a RL bf counsellor/lactation consultant. They can advise you on the latch and probably also keep an eye on her to see whether see is getting too weak to focus on the bf and the most important thing is to get milk into her or whether she's getting enough and you can focus on the bf.

I used to bf him first always, then top up with expressed milk.

tiktok Sat 03-Oct-09 17:51:00

I agree with ib: real life help is best.

You really need someone to watch.

Have you tried biological nurturing, skin to skin, co-bathing, co-sleeping? Is your baby gaining weight?

kathhere Sat 03-Oct-09 18:58:39

thanks, I've had a few visits, from different midwives, NCT counsellor, NHS expert etc and it all makes sense when they are there (or my daughter is too asleep to wake up so its theoretical) - but once they've left then I seem to lose the knack again.