Talk

Advanced search

At six months, period started and milk supply dwindled - is this normal?

(7 Posts)
klm1970 Sat 26-Sep-09 13:30:20

After months of good milk supply, leaking all over the place, I am suddenly having to formula-feed my DS several times a day! Period started day before yesterday, and yesterday I barely managed two feeds! DS is six and a half months, so I guess it's ok to stop, but it's all rather sudden.
On the plus side, last night I slep w/o a bra for the first time, no need for bra to keep pads in place to catch leaks ;-)
has this happened quite so suddenly to anyone else?

Montifer Sat 26-Sep-09 13:37:16

I'm not an expert, but my understanding is that even though your leaking has stopped you should produce adequate milk supply in response to your baby's demand.

They typically have a growth spurt around 6 months so may bf more frequently to increase your supply.
If you supplement with formula your supply won't keep up.

My leakage (although it was never loads) also settled down around this time and I continued to exclusively bf for another 3 months until he started eating food.

Hope that makes sense

peppapighastakenovermylife Sat 26-Sep-09 16:14:16

Why did you give formula - because he didnt seem satisfied or because you werent leaking?

I found that when my period came back my milk supply dropped for a day or so before and then during my period. I just didnt seem to have any milk but they seem satisfied still. It then came back once period had stopped - must be hormonal.

Its normal to stop leaking though - I used to leak and spray everywhere then from about 6 months ish I suddenly didnt have to worry about it anymore.

feralgirl Sat 26-Sep-09 20:31:45

I stopped leaking really early - about 2 months iirc - but have always had ace supply. Didn't get a period until 7 months or so, presumably when DS was eating more solids and therefore my supply dropped a bit to compensate. Never had a prob satisfying him though.