Talk

Advanced search

How do I encourage a three year old to consider giving up breast milk?

(10 Posts)
BurningBright Wed 23-Sep-09 16:46:59

DD is three. Breastfeeding has been a very happy and important part of our relationship so far but I feel that now is the time to gently and gradually stop.

But how?

A few weeks ago DD was really only nursing at bedtime and occasionally first thing in the morning and I was merrily thinking that it was going to peter out of its own accord.

I suspect she read my mind because in the last three weeks there has been a massive resurgence in her demands for 'miltside' (her name for it). She asks for it constantly when we are together and has even started occasionally waking at night again wanting to nurse.

Any thought or ideas? Please?

mawbroon Wed 23-Sep-09 19:47:06

Have a read of How Weaning Happens which is a LLL book.

I have no experience of weaning a three year old because any attempts at weaning mine were met with such resistance that I made the decision just to go with the flow.

He is still feeding at 3.11yo but it is something we are both happy with so no problem there for us.

I have thought many times that he was going to stop, but like your dd, he suddenly would ramp up the feeding and we were back to square one!

Good luck. smile

babyboos Wed 23-Sep-09 20:16:02

she maybe is getting ready to stop often a surge preceeds stopping so don't dismay good luck and hope you manage to stick with it

Mummy369 Thu 24-Sep-09 02:13:54

My DD1 stopped breastfeeding in June - a month after she turned 3. We had a nice busy week going out and about, a few nights where I had to disappear out the bedroom after the first feed of the night, then went on a family holiday - my Mum, my sister, niece and DD1 in one hotel room, and poor old me with my 2 DS's and my nephew in another - for a whole week!