Talk

Advanced search

Night time feeding. Any tips for dealing with the leaking breast???

(21 Posts)
Tinker Sat 04-Jun-05 17:11:51

This is what I don't like about bfeeding. When feeding at night, other breast leaks so much that I am cold and wet. Don't want to wear a bra at night so am reduced to holding a muslin cloth or breast pad over the leaking one. Has anyone got any tips on this or is it just a case of grin (gritted teeth grin) and bear it?

Thanks

dinosaur Sat 04-Jun-05 17:14:49

In my experience it settles down after a while. The only tip I have is to sleep on a towel.

RuthN Sat 04-Jun-05 20:29:23

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

hercules Sat 04-Jun-05 20:29:58

Big towels under boobs.

beansprout Sat 04-Jun-05 20:31:45

I have been wearing a bra non-stop for 7 months now (apart from 5 mins in the shower). I wouldn't mind, but they are the worst bras I have ever owned!!

Blondeinlondon Sat 04-Jun-05 21:45:50

I wear sloggi bra top things, supportive enough to restrain the boob and keep it in contact with the breast pad

misdee Sat 04-Jun-05 21:47:28

havew just ordered a sleep vra fron the NCT. i have a pair of pj's and the top has a hidden support bit, and that holds breastpads well. usually i am also in bed holding muslin cloth over the other boob.

mears Sat 04-Jun-05 21:48:07

I would actually catch it in a bottle and save it for stock of EBM - waste not want not

If you don't fancy that you could try pressing the heel of your hand firmly against the nipple and compress the breast. That sometimes stops the let down.

misdee Sat 04-Jun-05 21:49:39

is there a little thing to you to catch it? i was thinking about it the other day. my leaks are more like fountains.

MumOf10 Sat 04-Jun-05 21:50:09

After your breast gets used to feeding the leakage should calm down.

Sleeping bras from mother care etc. are quite comfortable and you just have to slip a pad inside.

Hope it helps hun! x

morningpaper Sat 04-Jun-05 21:51:52