Talk

Advanced search

Still breastfeeding and returning to work

(6 Posts)
mummy2JJ Tue 11-Aug-09 09:39:28

Hello-I'm new to mumsnet but have found it a great source of good advice when I have read various posts over the last few months. My son in now 41 weeks old and breastfed. I am about to return to work 3 days a week. I'm having a real dilemma about what to do re: milk during the days when he is at nursery as I'm planning on working 9-4 three days a week.

At present, he has a breastfeed before his breakfast around 5.30-6, sometimes a small feed at 9-9.30 ish (sometimes not), lunch at 11-11.30, breastfeed at 2, tea at 5 and final breastfeed at 7. He occasionally feeds at night but this is rare now.

I wanted to give him a cup of milk to take to nursery but i think I must have a problem with high levels of lipase in my milk (every time I freeze and thaw it it tastes really soapy and horrid).

Here are my questions:
1) Will he be ok just having three feeds a day (i.e. before and after nursery plus before bed) or should I give him a cup of formula (I'm reluctant to do this really as he has eczema and food allergies already)
2) Should I replace his mid morning milk with water?
3) Will I need to express milk on the days he is in nursery so I can carry on feeding him as 'normal' on his home days or will my breasts adjust?

Any advice would be appreciated-thanks

CMOTdibbler Tue 11-Aug-09 09:50:30

I'd just let him have water during the day. But you can try expressing and giving him fresh milk in a cup - it keeps for up to 8 days in the back of the fridge, so you wouldn't need to freeze it.

Expressing will make you more comfortable, even if it's a quick hand express at lunchtime. Then just feed as normal on your home days

mummy2JJ Tue 11-Aug-09 11:13:11

Thanks for that-my gut feeling is that he will probably be ok with some water and his lunch/tea.

It will be good if I can carry on feeding him on my home days as we both enjoy the breast feeds