Talk

Advanced search

Will I still be able to BF 4 days per week when I return to work?

(8 Posts)
picc Thu 23-Jul-09 14:13:56

Apologies in advance for hugely long post!

DS is nearly 6 months and I return to work in September.
By then, he'll be 7 months old, and I'll have been (slowly!) introducing solids for about a month (or that's the plan.....)

He currently feeds (ish) 8am/11am/2pm/5pm/8pm
(I say 'ish' cos he's demand fed)
Also feeds 2 or 3 times in the night, one of which is usually a bottle feed.

In September, he'll go to nursery Monday to Wednesday from 7.30 til 6.30.
So I guess I'll feed him when he wakes up and before he goes to bed on those days, plus any night feeds.

I'd REALLY like to carry on feeding him during the day on the other days (Thursday to Sunday). But will my milk start to decrease without feeding him on the other days?

I'm not going to be able to express very often when working. I'm a teacher, so no time or privacy (I know they probably SHOULD provide somewhere for me... but they won't). Also, I have severe carpal tunnel syndrome (awaiting operation) so can't use my pump any more.

Having said that, I guess I'm going to get incredibly uncomfortable if I don't express or feed for 12 hours..... so I guess I'll have to find a way to do it once during the day (maybe in the loo with manual pump and sod the wrists?) and once after lessons finish at 3pm?.

Sorry. Long and confusing post, but any help/tips/experience much appreciated as I'd really like to keep the BF going for at least another 6 months.

Thanks!

Wonderstuff Thu 23-Jul-09 14:21:17

Hi
I'm also a teacher. I went back when dd was 8mo and was also worried, she is now 21 months and I haven't dried up yet.

You could hand express if you get uncomfortable. The only time I felt I needed to was when I had to stay for parents eve. I found a big cupboard.