Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Difficult switch from Colostrum to Milk advice appreciated

(7 Posts)
MrChris Thu 16-Jul-09 13:54:06

Hi, first post so please forgive me if I'm not up with the lingo.

My DW has just started the switch from colostrum to milk on day 3 since our DD was born. However DD has stopped playing ball and is not having a proper feed at all. We get a few sucks followed by her pushing away crying and refusing to go back to the breast.

This has carried on all day and my DW (who is already quite emotional due to the hormones released around day 3/4), is finding it all a bit stressful.

Is it common for babies to reject milk for the first day or so? We have expressed some and she drank that from the bottle, but DW doesn't want her getting too used to bottles at this stage.

Have tried various nursing positions, but with no luck. Any suggestions?

TOK Thu 16-Jul-09 14:06:57

Hi, I'm no expert on this and I'm sure someone more experienced will come on with loads of advice for you, but it could be that the milk is maybe coming out too fast for your dd. I know you've tried different position though. Have you tried lying down with her? It also might help to express a little first then put her on the breast? I would definitely recommend phoning NCT breast feeding counsellor or La Leche league. They will be able to give some really helpful support for your DW in the meantime. She's very lucky that you're being so supportive too! You should be able to find the numbers for those support lines easily on google or in the piles of leaflets that you get during pregnancy! Hope it gets easier! xxx

LuluMaman Thu 16-Jul-09 14:13:52

your DW should go to bed with the baby, get lots of skin to skin and unfettered access to the breast.
and definitely call one of the helplines, or ask the MW for advice.

giving a bottle can make it difficult as latching on to the breast is differnt to drinking from a bottle, so best to try to perservere with the breast