Talk

Advanced search

Bresastfeeding - how to stop?

(23 Posts)
wb Tue 16-Jun-09 11:10:37

Ds2 is now 16 mo and still a big fan of the boob (for comfort/falling asleep now rather than food). I was hoping he'd naturally self-wean like ds1 did but there is no sign of that and I have to admit I'm getting to the point where I've had enough. Am
OK to carry on til he's 18 mo but really, then, would like to stop. Has anyone got any tips on how I can make the transition easier on both of us (do I just stop completely one day or cut down the no. of feeds for example?).

mrsflux Tue 16-Jun-09 13:22:09

wow 16 months well done!

we've swapped over at 10 weeks. i dropped one feed every week to stop me getting too engorged. so far so good.

don;t know if that advice will help as your BF is so much more established!

bumpybecky Tue 16-Jun-09 13:31:12

I'm not an expert, but have fed for that long before....

With dd1 (13mo) we were down to two feeds a day, then went away for the weekend, out of all normal routine. I forgot to feed her, she didn't ask, that was that!

With dd2 she stopped dead at 8mo. I got a bit sore, but after a few days it eased.

With dd3 she was 22mo, we were down to just morning and evening feeds. We only fed with me in/on our bed. We quit by Daddy doing bedtimes for a week or so to avoid bedtime feed. Morning feed stopped by us getting up as soon as she woke up.

ds is 17 months and we're still feeding.

I'd try to reduce feeds rather than stopping dead (risk mastistis, blocked ducts soreness etc). Try to cut down by only feeding in one place and distracting him from other feeds. You might need to be very busy for a few days! I find I get 'mugged' whenever I sit down at the PC, so if I wanted to stop I'd have to stop MNing shock Also you might need to enlist Daddy to do betimes if possible. Don't forget to offer more drinks in the daytime as he might be getting more milk from you that you think

kidcreoleandthecoconuts Tue 16-Jun-09 13:32:09