Talk

Advanced search

Breastfeeding

(23 Posts)
Alized Wed 20-Apr-05 13:50:38

Hi I have been breastfeeding my son for nearly 2 years, sometimes as much as 3 times aday. Has anyone got any useful advice about stopping breastfeeding. My doctor adviced on changing my pill so that I dried up my milk.
Please help.

tiktok Wed 20-Apr-05 14:25:14

Not sure I understand your doctor's advice, Alized.....you mean switching to a different form of contraceptive pill? The combined pill is known to have some effect on breastmilk supply, but it won't dry you up. There's lots of info on extended breastfeeding and stopping breastfeeding on Mumsnet - you can do a search on the archives for some ideas. Do you have any special reason why you want to stop now? Can you do it gradually or do you need to do it straight away?

Alized Wed 20-Apr-05 19:45:47

nobody got any advice?

hewlettsdaughter Wed 20-Apr-05 19:49:22

Does this site help? It's American so when it talks about weaning it means weaning off the breast (not simply starting solids).

Alized Wed 20-Apr-05 19:53:54

Not sure if i want to give it up gradually or not. have been getting a lot of grief because he is 2 and im still feeding him. Yes i do mean change to the combined pill. Was told this will stop my milk.

Tissy Wed 20-Apr-05 19:56:22

as tiktok says there are two ways to do this: either stop suddenly and shut up shop (your child will be fractious for a few days and your breasts will be a bit uncomfortable) or reduce the frequency of feeds bit by bit till you're only feeding once a day, then stop. This is what I did and it wasn't traumatic- I cut down the feeds till dd was just having a bedtime feed, then one night I said, "No, Mummy's milk is all gone". There were tears (mine more than hers) but they didn't last long, and the breast discomfort was minimal. You don't need drugs- as soon as your child stops feeding your breasts will get the message and stop making milk.

Tissy Wed 20-Apr-05 19:56:41