Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

I'm unsure which is the lesser of two 'evils'...

(10 Posts)
Skimty Thu 26-Feb-09 21:10:58

I'm really tired and about to go to bed so it probably isn't the best time to start this thread but after talking to a few mums recently I've been wondering..

At around 5 months would you advise someone to switch from BF to FF or to introduce solids? I'm exclusively BF to 26 weeks but DD is my second and I'm happy to wait it out but lots of the mums I speak to are struggling at this time. I know you can mix feed but my experience is that it leads (psycholgically) to a quicker weaning from BF.

I'm no expert at all and i'm genuinely curious, not trying to stir etc.

(BTW I don't think either FF or early weaning are 'evil'. I ended up doing both with DS when I was at the end of my tether! In vain may I add)

StealthPolarBear Thu 26-Feb-09 21:12:46

personally I would ff rather than give solids (although really with support they should just be able to bf)
Although...I did BLW from just over 23 weeks, so maybe a hypocrite! But when you ask like that....

TheBreastmilksOnMe Thu 26-Feb-09 21:15:33

Why do you feel you need to make a switch now? If you can keep up exclusively BF until your DD is 6 mths then all the better for her, then you could start with BLW but keep up with the BF until she is 1. Or longer. That is my personal opinion.

StealthPolarBear Thu 26-Feb-09 21:16:47

She is planning to, I think she's asking, if it has to be one or the other, which should it be.
And I've answered with my own opinion - useful!

Skimty Thu 26-Feb-09 21:19:59

That's what I'm planning on doing TBOM but There were two mums I was talking to with babies the same age. One was mix feeding moving to more bottles and the other had introduced solids and they were discussing the merits of each.

I pointed out that this is a massive sleep regression, growth spurt thing.