Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

B/F a 10 week old with a cold - please help

(13 Posts)
BeachedWhale Mon 07-Mar-05 17:54:27

My DD has a horrible cold and over the last 24 hours I've found it really difficult to b/f her. During the day she is feeding only for a few minutes each time and is gagging when I try to latch her on. At night, she just wants to sleep and sleep and I'm having to wake her up to feed and then she isn't really interested. She seems so bunged up and snotty and miserable. Any advise would be much appreciated as I'm a novice b/feeder and have only just got my confidence up after struggling to get going in the early weeks.

Fran1 Mon 07-Mar-05 18:03:53

Hmmm i remember b/feeding dd with a cold, not fun is it! I think i just fed her as often as i could.
It would be natural for a child to feed less during an illness, but it could be worth you expressing if she really doesn't feed to ensure you keep your supply up.
I would be inclined to see a GP as she is so young, so you can start any necessary treatment as early as poss.
I am no expert, hopefully someone in the know will be along soon for you!

Laylasmum Mon 07-Mar-05 18:07:01

It might be worth trying steam inhalation sit in your bathroom or shower room will taps/shower on full so it gets really steamy and sit in there for 15-20 mins it should help loosen the snot and make it thinner so it can be wiped away and make her breathing easier for feeding!! HTH

Babblan Mon 07-Mar-05 18:14:46

Feeding is difficult when the baby can't breathe through the nose! I cleare my baby's nose with a suction thing that sucks out the snot and then I give her nose drops to tackle the swelling. The nose drops are for children 2 to 10 years, but I asked my GP and she said I could use them after three months. It makes such a difference! (Check with your GP though since there are some conditions in which you should not use them)