Talk

Advanced search

A question for breastfeeding experts

(21 Posts)
Elasticwoman Sat 18-Oct-08 11:57:31

Why isn't human milk ever used to make dairy products such as cheese, yoghurt etc? There is a huge long list of other mammals whose milk is processed, but as a world resource, human milk seems to be under-used, and in many cases wasted.

I once asked a pathologist this question and he said that human milk was of inferior quality. I can't believe that. (A pathologist is a doctor without the bedside manner to see live patients.)

Can it be cultural? I can't see why we should be fussy about exploitation, when prostitution of women's bodies in the sex industry has existed for ever and a day.

ObsidianBlackbirdMcNight Sat 18-Oct-08 12:17:57

1- because women would have to be milked like cows

2- there is a shortage of bm for prem babies in milk banks - more important?

3 - people are squeamish

Penthesileia Sat 18-Oct-08 12:20:12

I'm not an expert, but I think I can answer your question (assuming you're being serious, of course...).

Imagine a whole line of lactating mothers hooked up like this. shock

The logistics, my friend. The logistics. Just think how much milk would be necessary.

grin

NotDoingTheHousework Sat 18-Oct-08 12:21:17

Message withdrawn

AnotherNameForMyself Sat 18-Oct-08 12:24:15

AIDs risk also.

tiktok Sat 18-Oct-08 12:38:22

Human milk does not have the right sort of protein to make cheese and other dairy products very easily - nothing to do with quality ( what a stupid thing to say....as if 'quality' was only judged on whether you can make yoghurt from it).

It can be done, though, I think, with the addition of other products.

But the 'harvesting' of it on a commercialor industrial scale would be de-humanising.

LadyOfRoffle Sat 18-Oct-08 13:40:34

I have often wondered why they don't sell EBM like formula... I meanI know some reasons why they don't.

Mij Sat 18-Oct-08 16:13:55