Talk

Advanced search

Help! trying to BF my 3 day old ...

(15 Posts)
fledtoscotland Thu 04-Sep-08 21:19:00

hopefully someone here will be able to help me as my MW just says to "keep going".

anyway, had an elective c-section tuesday morning at 9am and DS2 was reluctant to feed all day tuesday. eventually got him to feed overnight tuesday and during the day wednesday and got home at 9pm last night.

He feed quite well last night but my problem is getting him to latch on and stay latched on. When he is feeding there is no pain and my nipples arent sore so i presume that what we are doing (when successful is right) but apart from a couple of times, he only feeds for 4-5mins every 90mins-2hrs.

i asked the m/w today and she said to support his jaw rather than head but the minute i move my hand he lets go. i bottle-fed DS1 and really want to be BF #2.

is only feeding for 5mins ok? will it be different when my milk comes in?

tia

AnyFuleKno Thu 04-Sep-08 21:32:53

I am no expert and don't want to give poor advice as there are some brilliant supporters on here. Just wanted to give your post a bump from someone who's been there and made it through the other side.

The supporting the jaw thing sounds odd to me as your ds's jaw needs to be free to move.

fledtoscotland Thu 04-Sep-08 21:34:36

thanks - am sitting here really panicking that we are getting the whole thing wrong. DH is trying to help suggesting bottle feeding but i really dont want to go down that route again.

cmotdibbler Thu 04-Sep-08 21:38:26

That sounds perfect. At the moment your DS will be drinking minute amounts of colostrum, so needs little and often. Just let him have a feed whenever he wants.

Some babies only ever feed for a few minutes BTW, and some like to take ages. And this can change with time and their mood, so don't worry if he does change things

whomovedmychocolate Thu 04-Sep-08 21:40:54