Talk

Advanced search

Returning to work...not sure how to feed...

(12 Posts)
tryanythingONCE Tue 29-Jul-08 13:05:24

Hi,
My dd is 3 months old and bf. I'm returning to work in sep and not sure what to do!
I work as a rep and cover a large territory which involves stay aways...will be spending some weeks at home, in the midlands and others working out of my mums in yorkshire. I definately want to continue bf morning and eve/night but thinking of introducing formula for day feeds to make life easier...I've never got on with expressing and think transporting milk up and down the m6 might prove tricky..keeping it cool etc..would this mixed feeding work? should I start introducing it slowly throughout aug so its established for sep? any thoughts appreciated. x

Loriycs Tue 29-Jul-08 18:06:17

I breast fed mine and none of them would take a bottle,i returned to work after the last one a 6 months and she refused everything whilst i was away from. luckily i only worked very part time. But on my evening shift i had to get my dh to bring her to work so i could feed her on my break. I had an understanding employer. If I were you i would introduce bottle feeds ASAP if you want to do both as otherwise she may reject them. Your work sounds exhausting by the way, can you not take a longer Mat leave? You will get very tired believe me.

tryanythingONCE Wed 30-Jul-08 09:06:42

Oh gosh that sounds tricky! I would take longer but our savings have run out and we need the money!
I will go buy bottles today..!was it the bottle or formula your little one's refused?

chipmonkey Wed 30-Jul-08 09:54:50