Talk

Advanced search

I find expressing painful and it's reducing my milk supply ( a bit long) - please help

(7 Posts)
p1umpudding Fri 11-Jul-08 22:14:13

I have a 6 week old daughter who has been exclusively breastfed. I thought I would start expressing so I could have the odd night out and so I bought an electric avent pump. I managed to get out 3oz at 7.30pm (from the right breast) and I'm normally bursting to feed by 11pm, but this wasn't the case. The following day, my breast wasn't as full as it normally is and it felt quite bruised. I tried expressing from the left breast and again, my breast didn't fill up as normal and is a little sore.

Three days on and my breasts haven't recovered, they're not full and I think my milk supply is dwindling fast. I'm really upset by this and wish I hadn't started expressing at all sad .

Can anyone help or suggest anything?

lackaDAISYcal Fri 11-Jul-08 22:31:24

didn't want your post to go unanswered, but try not to panic. I'm not an expert, but have done a bit of training as a peer supporter. hopefully tiktok or hunkermunker will see this and be along to reassure you soon.

firstly, six weeks is a time of growth spurt and babies feed more than normal, so it's a common time for boobs to feel empty. It's only a feeling though; the more a baby feeds and the more you express, the more your body will produce.

Also, if your feeding is reasonably well established (usually from around 6-8 weeks) then your body is working on the supply and demand basis that you are aiming for with BFing. Is your DD feeding well and seeming to be satisfied afterwards? She would soon let you know if she wasn't.

As for feeling bruised and battered, the recommendation, certainly in the avent manual pump, is to start off gradually (for a few minutes at a time and build up). It is quite a brutal action, not gentle like your baby suckling.