Talk

Advanced search

Is it true you hold on to extra weight whilst breastfeeding..

(58 Posts)
Twiglett Fri 26-Nov-04 17:45:11

if so how much?

see this .. this is what you call "clutching at straws"

Gomez Fri 26-Nov-04 17:45:31

I hope so..

spacemonkey Fri 26-Nov-04 17:45:57

I dunno, I lost loads of weight when I was bf!

tortoiseshell Fri 26-Nov-04 17:46:46

I definitely did. Stopped after 14 months and lost a load without trying. Same with ds.

tortoiseshell Fri 26-Nov-04 17:47:10

I read somewhere that 50% of women lose weight, 50% put it on or hold on to it, due to hormones.

babster Fri 26-Nov-04 17:48:10

No! I ended up skinnier than before children - had to eat loads to keep up.

Twiglett Fri 26-Nov-04 17:50:28

see I lost weight with DS

but am staying fat with DD (joined SW last week though)

tamula Fri 26-Nov-04 17:54:43

As far as I am aware, I have been working in childcare for many years as well as currently a student midwife on a year out to have my baby!

Breast feeding is supposed to increase the loss of weight due to the faster metabolism employed by your body whilst nursing your baby.

wordgirl Fri 26-Nov-04 17:56:09

I didn't lose any when bf but joined Weightwatchers when I had stopped and lost 9lb in the first week (without trying very hard)!

Twiglett Fri 26-Nov-04 17:57:19

Tamula .. with the greatest of respect

B.o.l.l.o.c.k.s

as my a$$ will currently attest to

tamula Fri 26-Nov-04 17:59:44

so delicately put twiggy, with a name like that your arse should at least be the size of kylie's, not your namesake then?

Twiglett Fri 26-Nov-04 18:01:25

marmite flavoured snack more like (but the correct spelling was taken)

aloha Fri 26-Nov-04 18:01:44