Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Breast fed 11 day old.....how often should he empty bowels???

(22 Posts)
TheLadyEvenstar Sat 29-Sep-07 23:09:56

Hi
I am new to breast feeding and my ds2 11 days old has not been for a poo in just over 24 hours. I did have him on mixed feeds to start with but have found he feeds better from my breast so I stopped the formula. bur since stopping it he hasn't had a poo, I know this probably sounds silly but is this normal or ok?? and when should I start worrying?

VeniVidiVickiQV Sat 29-Sep-07 23:12:26

It is normal for many babies. As long as he's having regular wet nappies then no need to worry.

fihi Sat 29-Sep-07 23:12:45

breast milk is the perfect food and can be completely digested by your baby, so as long as DS is producing wet nappies and seems well then don't worry. You'll have lots of poo to deal with in the next couple of years so don't be feeling deprived wink

geordiemacminx Sat 29-Sep-07 23:14:32

My ds sometimes went for 4 or 5 days.. I got really worried but the mw said that there was nothing to worry about. There were a few times when he seemed to be realy uncomfortable so I gave him some colled boiled water on a teaspoon which seemed to get things moving a bit. although it could have been coincidence.

Jackstini Sat 29-Sep-07 23:16:33

Congrats on your ds and well done for the bfing. smile
Poos could be anything from 3 a day to less than 1 a week, as long as the nappies are wet you are fine.
(Like Fihi says, bf is the perfect food so not always a lot of waste to come out!)

bookthief Sat 29-Sep-07 23:18:24

I'm not sure it is necessarily normal for a baby this young tbh. Usually breastfed babies start having fewer poos a few weeks in.

Best get your midwife to have a look at him to be on the safe side. It he still having lots of wet nappies though?

francagoestohollywood Sat 29-Sep-07 23:24:08

My breastfed ds started pooing very irregularly from very early days (a week maybe?).