Talk

Advanced search

can you combine breast + bottle from start?

(13 Posts)
vannah Thu 27-Sep-07 14:40:36

Hi all
Im really confused about this. I remember with my first I was advised to breast feed exclusively, which i did for 3 months but it was so hard, he was very unsettled and needed so many night feeds.

He is now 2, and still a poor sleeper, and I am due to have no2 in december.
Panicking a bit about waking up to settle toddler, and breast feeding newborn - will I ever sleep?

Thought might give baby benefit of breast milk but with a 'top up' at night. Is it really disastrous? I was so frightened of doing it with ds1, as Id heard about babies getting used to bottle nipple flow and becoming lazy on breast. But is that true in most people's experience?

thankyou

RGPargy Thu 27-Sep-07 14:42:33

I have no personal experience, but apparently it gives them nipple confusion if you combine the two too early.

Someone will come along in a mo with first hand experience and/or good advice.

FabulousKbear Thu 27-Sep-07 14:42:43

I did mixed feeding from two weeks, basically because I thought I would be going into hospital for surgery and couldn't have a baby reliant on b/fing. DS took to it really well, I just gave one bottle a day (found expressing really difficult so it was formula) and had no problems combining the two. It turned out I could delay the surgery but it was nice for DH to give a feed sometimes so I kept the one bottle a day. Continued to b/f for 5/6 months.

daisyandbabybootoo Thu 27-Sep-07 14:44:10

afaik vanna, you need to bf exclusively to get your supply established, although some people do manage it.

I think if you were prepared to express the missed feeds then it might work, butas your LO will be up through the night for a feed initially, is there any point?

lindso Thu 27-Sep-07 14:45:35