Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Just been to HV and a little shaken, Tiktok or others, any advice?

(42 Posts)
cazee Thu 20-Sep-07 14:43:39

I have not had my baby weighed for ages, and I was worried to see that she has fallen from the 50th ish percentile to the 9th. She is nearly 9 months, and is not really interested in solids. She is BF. I was told that she is having too much milk, and that I must increase her solids intake. I am really upset at the moment, and a little worried about why she is so light. She doesn't look that light to me, and she is happy and active. Before I went to weigh her I was not at all worried.
I felt that they thought I was negligent for not pushing solids, and was hoping for some advice. Should I cut back on the BF to encourage her to eat more solids?
Be gentle with me, I am a bit tearful after all this.

BabiesEverywhere Thu 20-Sep-07 14:47:05

I am no expert but why would increasing more solids which are relatively low in calories and reducing the higher in fat and calories breast milk...help your baby put on weight ?

Surely you need to offer more milk feeds and maybe eat oatmeal to boost your milk supply.

Is your baby looking well, alert with a good number of wet and dirty nappies ?

goingfor3 Thu 20-Sep-07 14:47:47

I breasfed my dd until she was 2 1/2 and she did eat solids but wasn't very interested in them until I stopped bf. DD also dropped from the 91st to 25th centile within a few weeks of her birth. I don't know whether this is related but she had constant cougha nad colds, once I stopped bf and she took more interst in food she was healthier though of course she could have built up a strong immunity by that point. If I could do it again I would still have bf for the same amount of time but encouraged DD to eat more solids.

lailasmum Thu 20-Sep-07 14:48:00