Talk

Advanced search

Trying to stop BF

(17 Posts)
Fattynoms02 Fri 14-Apr-17 10:02:04

I've EBF Dd for 6 months and during that time, really struggled with getting her to take a bottle.
She isn't yet taking solids, which is another battle. She will drink some formula from a Tommy tippee cup. I've a family party in 2 weeks time so will be away from her. Not sure what we'll do if she won't take the cup for night feeds.....
Anyone got any advice on how to get her off the boob?

JiltedJohnsJulie Fri 14-Apr-17 19:18:04

Are you wanting to stop completely or do you just want some tips about the party Fatty? smile

Fattynoms02 Sun 16-Apr-17 09:13:49

I'd like to stop completely. But unfortunately she gets hysterical if she can't have the boob! hmm

gloopygloop Sun 16-Apr-17 09:20:47

I'm no expert and can only tell you what I'm doing with my ds who is 6 months. I'm going back to work so have to stop although I'm hoping to keep the morning and night time feeds if I can.

I've taken it really slowly and introduced one feed at a time so started with a bottle in the day, then once he was happily taking that (it took A couple of weeks) I then replaced another feed with a bottle etc...

I also had to try lots of different formula and bottles to see what he would take!

Good luck!

LapinR0se Sun 16-Apr-17 09:25:05

You need to wait til she's hungry but not starving then get someone else to give a bottle.
Lots and lots of distraction is key so feed quite upright in arms walking around singing or watching tv.
Don't try and put the test straight in, place it next to baby's mouth and wait for her to turn her head and keep walking and singing while she drinks.

Fattynoms02 Sun 16-Apr-17 14:34:12

Thank you for the advice, much appreciated. smile

LapinR0se Tue 18-Apr-17 15:41:27

Did you have any luck?

Fattynoms02 Tue 18-Apr-17 18:37:34

No not yet but I think it's because she knew I was there....dh will have to persevere!

LapinR0se Tue 18-Apr-17 18:39:15