Talk

Advanced search

BF advice

(23 Posts)
Sunisshining12 Wed 22-Mar-17 10:06:14

My 3.5 week old feeds for about 45mins every 2hrs (not sure if normal but I just go with what she demands, can be up to 1hr).

I usually feed her from one breast per feed as I want to make sure I drain it properly & so that she gets the fatty milk at the end.

Should I be feeding her from both breasts per feed? How long does it take to 'finish' the breast & for a baby to get to the fatty bit?

The advice I've read is that when baby unlatches to offer the other side but my baby never ever unlatches herself! She often falls asleep but still strongly latched on. I break the latch after 45-60mins.

What do you ladies think?

SerialReJoiner Wed 22-Mar-17 10:11:49

What's her weight gain like? Plenty of wet and dirty nappies? Are you in pain at all? Is she settled in between feeds?

Zebrasinpyjamas Wed 22-Mar-17 10:13:29

I'm not an expert but I suspect she's not really feeding for that long but comfort sucking after a while. That's not necessarily 'wrong' as it makes her happy. I was offered the advice with dc1 of feed for 15mins, wind them if needed for a min or two, offer the other side. Keep swapping for as long as your baby wants to. Some only want one side, some want more.
Also remember you are your baby are still learning how to feed so just do what feels natural. You will naturally flowers into a routine. Congrats on the new arrival

Zebrasinpyjamas Wed 22-Mar-17 10:16:54

Naturally 'fall' not flowers confused
Also not all babies feed the same each time. Sometimes they just want a top up feed and sometimes a big meal. I think that's why most bf experts don't talk about the fore and hind milk now.

Sunisshining12 Wed 22-Mar-17 11:20:38